Setting up your client portal

Activating your client portal

Follow the steps below to activate your portal.

  1. ‍Browse to Organization Settings
  2. ‍Click the Client Portal navigation link
  3. ‍Click the Portal Activation switch to Yes

Note: Clients will not be able to view the portal until they are added as members of a ticket or project.

Sharing Defaults

By default, new updates, documents and comments are not shared on the portal. If you wish to change this, follow the steps below. 

  1. Browse to Organization Settings
  2. Click the Client Portal navigation link
  3. Click the Sharing switch to Yes

Custom Code

We understand customizing and branding your client portal is important. You can add your own JavaScript or Cascading Style Sheet (CSS) code. Follow the steps below to customize your portal.

  1. Browse to Organization Settings
  2. Click the Client Portal navigation link
  3. Enter the customization code in the code editor
  4. Your change will automatically be saved.

Note: When entering code, please add the appropriate SCRIPT and STYLE tags.

How do I give clients access to projects and tickets?

Clients are only able to access projects or tickets you’ve assigned them as members. Once you add them as a member, they will receive an email notifying them of the new membership. If they don’t have a user account, they receive an invitation to create an user account.

Follow the steps below to add them as members to a project or ticket.

  1. Browse to the desired Ticket or Project.
  2. Click the Members link.
  3. Click Add People button.
  4. In the new dialog, enter the contact you want to add as a member.
  5. Click the Add People button

Note: You will only be able to add contacts for the assigned company.

How do I share a milestone?

New Milestones

When you activate the client portal, you will see a Show on Portal? switch on each new milestone screen. If you wish to share with the client, click the switch to Yes. Don’t worry you can always change this setting later.

By default, all milestones are private and not shared on the client portal. You can change this option under Organization Settings

Change Existing Milestones

You can always share or hide milestones on the portal. By default, previous milestones are hidden from the portal. If you would like to change the sharing options, follow the steps below.

  • Click the {{gear}} beside the milestone
  • Click the Edit Milestone menu item
  • Click the Show on Portal? switch to Yes or No and click Update Milestone
  • The change will automatically be saved and instantly reflect on the client portal.

How do I share a task?

New Task

When you activate the client portal, you will see a Show on Portal? switch on each new task screen. If you wish to share with the client, click the switch to Yes. Don’t worry you can always change this setting later.

By default, all tasks are private and not shared on the client portal. You can change this option under Organization Settings

Change Existing Tasks

You can always share or hide tasks on the portal. By default, previous tasks are hidden from the portal. If you would like to change the sharing options, follow the steps below.

  • Browse to the task
  • Click the Show on Portal? switch to Yes or No
  • The change will automatically be saved and instantly reflect on the client portal.

Note: Only task lists with shared tasks will display on the portal.

How do I share an update or document?

New Updates or Documents

When you activate the client portal, you will see a Show on Portal? switch on each new update, document or comments screen. If you wish to share with the client, click the switch to Yes. Don’t worry you can always change this setting later.

By default, all updates and documents are private and not shared on the client portal. You can change this option under Organization Settings

Change Existing Updates or Documents

You can always share or hide updates and documents on the portal. By default, previous updates, documents, and/or comments are hidden from the portal. If you would like to change the sharing options, follow the steps below.

  1. Browse to the desired Update or Document.
  2. Click the Show on Portal
  3. The change will automatically be saved and instantly reflect on the client portal.

How do I view what is shared with a client?

We understand privacy and security is important. We give you an option to view the client’s portal from their perspective. Follow the steps below to view their portal.

  1. Browse to the desired Contact.
  2. Click the [...] icon.
  3. Click the View Portal menu item.
  4. A new window will open and you should be able to access their client portal.
Did this answer your question?